its time. time to blow our own trumpet. time to be green. time to play your part

You can actually make a difference.

 It’s strange. I’ve always been big on recycling and caring for the environment.  I wouldn’t call myself a tree hugger but I do care and am motivated to do what I can to help our planet.

 So this is why I am so excited to have been offered an opportunity where I can actually make a difference. (and so can you!)

Wired – never thought I’d actually be able to do anything BIG (no pun intended) but I think this is my chance..

I’m sure you remember the vuvuzela project I was involved in at the end of last year.

Well I have been given and exciting opportunity to actually make the vuvuzela inspired earrings.

 

I feel passionately about this because besides being a potential business opportunity I really feel it’s a good way to give back to the community and put into action the reason behind the project – to reduce the carbon footprint of the vuvuzela’s themselves as well as create much needed jobs for some extremely talented craftsman that this country has have but who do not have the opportunity to make it on their own.

I’ve already got a few craftsmen who are talented in working with plastics and breading who I have approached to be involved in this project.

But.. what I need to get going are the vuvuzela’s themselves.. and I’ll need as many as I can get.

 The whole point of the project is to use existing vuvuzlea’s and re-use the object to decrease the carbon footprint. Buying new ones will do the opposite so this is not an option and as it goes against the core essence of this initiative.

 That’s why I’m reaching out to you.

 If anyone has one, two, a bag full of old vuvuzela’s they are willing to donate to this project please contact me and we can make a plan. It doens not matter on teh size or colour. All that counts is your donation!

I would really appreciate any support I can get on this, and in a small way, you too will be able to make a difference!

Please get in touch with me if you have anything you can contribute! It’s in ways like these what we can make South African great and celebrate the truly inspirational talent we have in this country.

 On that note I’ll be heading off to design Indaba later today  for some more inspiration 🙂

 I must admit I am very happy to be turning what I used to think of as a noisy meaningless object into something which is actually usable, pretty and cool (not just to make noise) which encapsulates true South African beauty and culture.

Play your part guys! lets blow our own trumpets.

It’s never been a better time to go green. this is one way you can

xxx

Leave a Reply

