a teatime treat with a difference

One thing I didn’t mention in my post yesterday was the AMAZING Rosemary and Olive Oil cake I had at Skinny Legs

Don’t let the name put you off – it was absolutely incredible – with Lindt chocolate drizzled over the top, honestly one of the nicest teatime treats I’ve had in a while.

It’s great for those of you how prefer the less sweet things as the unique blend of flavours  make it delicious but not too sweet.

The only other real ‘savoury cake” I’ve ever had was a butternut cake – which was also divine but I’ve only ever seen it once at a little coffee shop in Tokai – and never again, much to my dismay. I’m a butternut-alholic (as I’m wring this I’m slurping away at my home made butternut soup – yes I’m that in love with this vegetable!)  so I can see that’s it’s probably not too appealing to regular folk but if you ever come across it be adventurous and give it a try.

After a quick internet search is appears that Spar makes butternut cake – YAY! So if you’re not energetic enough to make it yourself pop down and get one freshly baked.

 

So thanks again to good old Google I managed to track down the recipe (although not the exact Skinny Legs one but close enough) for the Rosemary and Olive Oil cake – thanks ceramiccanvas.com great site by the way!

If you’re feeling inspired during this cold weather and are looking for a real treat give it a go 🙂

In the words of Julia Childs ‘Bon appetite

Leave a Reply

