all things french, a forgotten love | toutes les choses françaises, un amour oublié

For those who know me you’ll know that I love all things French and all things poodle.. often going hand in hand.

So as I daydreamed, sipping my morning vida and gazing through some really beautiful  design inspired blogs I was delighted dot come across ‘how to dress like a Parisian’ andpoodle doodles’

I just had to include this here on under5foot – a tribute to my much loved little caniche Gigi (that’s poodle in French for all non-frankaphones)

They’re just so beautiful, and clever let me tell you! I can’t wait to have my little cottage in Newlands with a Gigi la Seconde prancing around
🙂 For those of you who have yet to have the pleasure in meeting Miss GiGi, here she is:

Then, you’ve got to love French style, chic and timeless.

Check out how you too can dress like a Parisian, gracieuseté de la House & Leisure.

Inès de la Fressange’s – Ten Ways to Dress Like a Parisian

10: Jeans with gem-encrusted sandals

(not sneakers)

9: A pencil skirt with ballet flats

(not with heels)

8: A sequined sweater with men’s trousers

(not with a skirt)

7: A diamond necklace with a denim shirt, during the day

(and not with a black dress at night)

6: Loafers with shorts … and even with socks

(not with long slacks and no socks)

5: An evening dress with ultra-plain, open-toed sandals

(not with the gem-encrusted evening variety)

4: A pearl necklace with a rock ‘n roll T-shirt

(not with a simple shift dress)

3: A chiffon print dress with battered biker boots

(not with brand-new ballet flats)

2: A tux jacket with sneakers

(not femme fatale stilettos)

1: An evening dress with a straw handbag

(not with a gold clutch)

With all this French in the air (and on my blog) I really miss it.. Tu me manques français

It’s sad, by the time I wrote my final matric exam I wouldn’t say I was fluent but I could hold a conversation and had quite a good understanding.

I dream of strolling down Le Champs Elysee  stopping at a sidewalk café, poodle in toll without a care in the world.. qui serait la vie…

We sang a song in French Class (Wendy, Jess and Lau if you’re reading you’ll recall this) that used to put us in the best mood, qand make us laugh!

I recall sitting in the dusty, hot and stuffy French class, struggling to congregate verbs and put them in the right tense, then at the end of the lesson Miss Keeley (In her overly deep voice – those of you who knew her will know what I’m talking about) would announce that we could sing one of our French songs before the bell rang..

I still catch myself humming it from time to time, bringing back fond memories.

It went a little something like this.. for those of you who don’t have the luxury of singing it from memory you can sing along to the youtube version.

Miss Keeley this is for you 🙂

Je m’baladais sur l’avenue,
Le coeur ouvert a
l’inconnu.
J’avais envie de dire bonjour
A n’importe qui.
N’importe qui
– ce fut toi
Et je t’ai dit n’importe quoi.
Je suffisait de te
parler
Pour t’apprivoiser.

Oh, Champs-Elysees!
Oh,
Champs-Elysees!
Au soleil, sous la pluie,
A midi ou a minuit
Il y a tout ce que vous voulez
Aux Champs-Elysees!

Tu m’a dit j’ai
rendez-vous
Dans un sous-sol avec des fous
Qui vivent la guitare a la main
Du soir au matin.
Alors je t’ai accompagne
On a chante, on a
danse
Et l’on n’a meme pas pense
A s’embra-asser.

Oh,
Champs-Elysees!
Oh, Champs-Elysees!
Au soleil, sous la pluie,
A midi ou
a minuit
Il y a tout ce que vous voulez
Aux Champs-Elysees!

Oh,
Champs-Elysees!
Oh, Champs-Elysees!
Au soleil, sous la pluie,
A midi ou
a minuit
Il y a tout ce que vous voulez
Aux Champs-Elysees!

Oh,
Champs-Elysees!..

I think I need to start it up again, so don’t get too taken aback of the odd mot français (French word) pops up here and there

à bientôt xx

3 thoughts on “all things french, a forgotten love | toutes les choses françaises, un amour oublié

  1. THIS POST made my day 🙂

    I miss you, and I miss French class. I an I still dream of walking down the Champs-Elysee avec mes amies, singing this song.

    No, its not a pipe-dream….I’m just waiting for the right time.

    des gros bisous!
    Jessie xx

Leave a Reply

