A street of a thousand blossoms – brilliant read!

It’s Friday again, can you believe it!

Winter seems to be taking its toll and the hint of a cold is sneaking up on me..

Hopefully I nipped the bug in the butt with the overdose of vitamin C I’ve been taking as well as my bed retreat I took earlier this week…

Whilst nursing my potentially dire cold in bed I managed to get through the book I’ve been reading for over a month 0- not because I didn’t enjoy it, but simply because when I manage to start reading in the evenings I feel myself drifting off and my eyes refuse to stay open. Also Jamie shouts at me for having the light on.. but that’s beside the point 🙂

Nevertheless I have finally finished. and it’s definitely one I’d recommend.

A street of a thousand blossoms by Gail Tsukiyama.

I’ve really had the chance to take that much interest in Japanese culture, although it’s always fascinated me and its always been a place I’ve wanted to visit and experience. after reading this book it’s made me want to learn even more and is defiantly somewhere I’d love to go.

What first struck me when reading the book, as its starts out set in World War II is that when one thinks of the war, and Japan, for me I’ve always had a negative perspective and never really considered the impact on the average Japanese person during the time. I’ve only ever thought of the Germans, Japanese etc in a bad light but after reading the book I’m able to appreciate the hardship that the common citizen also went through at the time.

The book is beautify written and captures the old world charm, respect, cultural rituals and heritage within Japan and its people. the book moves through a period of 1939 – 1966 telling each characters unique story capturing so beautifully their happiness and hardship.

For a more detail sum up of the book check out the New York Times review

I’ve always been captivated by how truly beautiful the Japanese women are. The world of Geisha’s, tea houses, sumo, Noh Plays.. it’s a world forgotten in the modern day and reading this book makes me want to travel back to a time where all these things were still appraised as they were.

I always get a little sad when I finish a good book.

I love being transported into someone else’s world and listen to their story.

I’ve always loved stories – whether they be movies, books, or someone talking to me.

I think maybe sometimes it’s refreshing to be able to escape into a world that’s not my own, and the magic of books, movies – stories, allow
me to do this. maybe my blog gives this to someone else out there reading. I hope so …

Now I’m in search of a new book.

If you have any suggestions please share 🙂

 

ありがとう

 

 

 

One thought on “A street of a thousand blossoms – brilliant read!

  1. I was in Japan 2 or 3 years ago while the cherry blossoms where flowering, the petals are like snow in the streets. Was really cool but not much english anywhere, had to match the symbols when using the subways and only eat at places that had menus with pictures.
    My favorite book ever is Shogun by James Clavell which tells the story of a westerner in feudal Japan, 1600’s. A really great book and sounds a bit like the one you just read.
    Im gonna have a look for ‘A street with a thousand blossoms’… thanks

Leave a Reply

