harry potter – a tribute

Since Standard 3 Harry Potter has been apart of my life. I was first introduced to the word of wizardry when my standard 3 teacher decided to read us the first book as part of our English lesson.

I immediately fell in love with the world of witchcraft and wizardry, spells and curses and where anything is possible. I remember countless nights staying up to all hours of the morning engulfed in my latest Harry Potter book.

Since the original book I was first in line to get the new release, and the first at the box office when the movies came out.

I’ve read the books over and over again, have the first 5 DVD’s, have been to all the movie premiers, book launches – you name it!

I didn’t go as far as my friend Wendy and dress up for the ‘Potter parties’ as they were dubbed, but I did have a Gryffindor scarf!

footnote: I wasn’t 100% sure how to spell ‘Gryffindor’ and as I typed it into word the programme automatically corrected me – how hectic is that – goes to show how embedded Harry is in so many of our lives, even Microsoft!

So now that the final book has been published and on a very final note the final movie has been released, I have to say how sad that my relationship with Harry seems to have come to an end.

I, like to many others, feel part of the magical world. I love being able to escape into the world of fantasy  and immerse myself into an augmented reality.

I definitely classify myself as a die-hard Harry Potter fan!

I’ve also turned a non-believing muggle (ahem – Jamie that’s you) into an epic
and devoted fan himself!

Before the last movie we both sad clued to our laptop screen watching the final trailer in awe!

On the night of the premier we were both so excited, Jamie surprisingly so, and we planning our second screening of the final Potter epic!

JK Rowling is honestly one of my favourite authors. every single thing in those books has so much thought and history behind it its frightening. every spell, name, place, event has a deeper meaning and fits into the grand scheme of the plot.

I have so much respect for her, and am so grateful to her for sharing her magical world with us!

Harry, Hermione and Ron, I will miss you but never forget you!

For other nostalgic Potter fans out there checkout the complication of all 8 movies!!!

Harry Potter weekend marathon – game on!

2 thoughts on “harry potter – a tribute

Leave a Reply

